Patient Reviews

Reviews for Dougherty Dental

Our Reviews

We get it – going to a new dentist can be scary. If you're looking for a new dentist in La Jolla, CA, it's good to hear from actual patients to find out what their experiences were like. We welcome patient feedback, and we've gathered reviews from several different platforms to help you make an informed decision. If you've been a patient of Dr. Paul Dougherty, please leave a review! If you're currently looking for a new dentist, browse through the collection of reviews below to find out more about the extraordinary patient care at Dougherty Dental!

Filter51 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from J.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 26, 2020

You will get 1st Class welcoming and 1st class treatment at Dougherty Dental. It will all be done right...the 1st time. You won't be disappointed. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 17, 2020

John loved his experience this morning. He said the dental hygienist was so polite, friendly and she did a fantastic job cleaning his teeth. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 11, 2020

Always enjoy my visits with Heidi. Definitely saw the safety precautions and glad to have dental services such as this available! Again - great visit. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 10, 2020

THE BEST!!! DR DOUGHERTY IS THE BEST DENTIST WITH THE BEST HYGIENISTS AND OFFICE STAFF!! KIND, CARING, PROFESSIONAL AND VERY COVID CAREFUL!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.M.  |  Source: Google  |  May 02, 2020

Dr. Paul and his staff are the most loving caring people who went out of their way to help me. I phoned with my emergency and they saw me the same day and provided the fix during that visit. Thank you Dr. Paul, Andrea and Kathy. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 06, 2020

This is the best Dental practice I have been to. My children were treated here and often schedule appointments with Dougherty Dental around their trips home. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.V.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 04, 2020

Always a great experience. The staff is super friendly and very knowledgeable. Thanks for taking care of our entire family! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 04, 2020

This is the best Dental practice I have been to. My children were treated here and often schedule appointments with Dougherty Dental around their trips home. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.O.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 04, 2019

I have been going to Dr. Dougherty for over 20 yrs. and have always had a positive experience. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.V.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 04, 2019

Dr. Dougherty is extremely professional and takes a personal interest in my dental health. Ashley is an amazing hygienist who is a wealth of knowledge on oral hygiene. 6 stars. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 04, 2019

Love my Hygienist Adrian ! Best treatment and super pleasant. I highly recommend Dougherty Dental. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 04, 2019

Thank you to Dr. Dougherty and his team for the great care that I have recently received. the procedure went smoothly and efficiently. Above and beyond expectations. I must add that both hygienists who have proceeded to cleaning, at different times, are amazing. I feel that my teeth have now the right support with Team Dr. Dougherty. Merci mille fois! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 04, 2019

Everyone in this office is awesome. They’re professional and helpful. I couldn’t ask for a better dental team. Shout out to Ashley, the best hygienist. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 04, 2019

Dr. Dougherty is a gem for the community of La Jolla. He is extremely knowledgable, caring and detailed. I highly recommend you and your Family visit Dougherty Dental. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 04, 2019

Great More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 04, 2019

Excellent service and qualified dental care! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 04, 2019

Dr. Dougherty is an outstanding dentist. He is patient and thorough. If you are looking for a dentist that really cares, understands your needs, has outstanding staff that is also courteous and friendly, you have found the right place. Highly recommended. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 04, 2019

Can't recommend more highly - they are the best! Have been to renowned dentists in NYC, Boston, FLA -- no practice has been more expert, more caring than Dougherty Dental. Ashley gave me clinical advice that has been invaluable -- her expertise saved 4 of my teeth other dentists wanted to remove. Dr. Scott Szotko is brilliant, and always has insightful ideas about protocols for near term, and down the road. Very patient-centric and strategic. Even the front desk staff are super cheery and kind. I have no fear of dentists, but for anyone who does, you will find serenity and tremendous care at Dougherty Dental. Bravo! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 04, 2019

Friendly, thorough, willing to help you with problem solving dental care! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 04, 2019

Entire staff is focused on your comfort, very friendly and relaxed atmosphere. I actually look forward to my visit. Dr. Dougherty and his team have completely changed my feelings for visiting the dentist. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 04, 2019

Heidi is amazing! Great experience as always- on time appointment and completely comfortable cleaning. 😁 More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.E.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 04, 2019

Very friendly and personable. They do great work and would highly recommend to anybody! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 04, 2019

Adriane was pleasant, professional and was very concerned about my comfort during the process. I hope to see her again at my next appointment. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 04, 2019

Extremely professional and detail oriented team. Couldn’t ask for a better experience! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 04, 2019

Paul Dougherty is a knowledgeable dentist with very high dexterity. He applies an investigator's interest and skill to figuring out what is going on in your mouth and then can craft solutions that are both elegant and effective. His staff of hygenists is composed of knowledgeable and careful practitioners. His front office staff is always a pleasure to deal with and is highly efficient. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 04, 2019

I visited Dougherty Dental on a recommendation from a friend.....and I am very glad I did. From the beginning, my experience was most favorable.......a friendly greeting on entering made me feel welcome immediately, extremely professional and competent dental examination with Dr Dougherty and wonderful assistant, smooth payment system and future appointment schedule. Can't wait to go back! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 28, 2019

Being 57 years old and living in many different states and various parts of California throughout my lifetime, I’ve had many dentists. I’ve been lucky and have always managed to pick very good dentists, usually by referrals from friends, family or co-workers. However, with that said, Dr. Doughety and his incredible staff are hands down, BY FAR, the best Dentist I’ve ever had! He and his staff are professional, organized and TRULY care about each and every patient like you were one of their family members. I’ve now been going to him for over 10 years and would never even consider going anywhere else. I honestly think if I moved to New York, I would fly back to San Diego every 6 months for my dental appointment. That probably sounds crazy, but the fact is, he’s just THAT GOOD and it would be worth the expense and trip! Fortunately, I have no plans to ever move again, so I won’t have to worry about it. Dr. Dougherty should write a book for other Dentists on how a top-notch Dental office should be run and how to hire (and keep) high-quality, competent and caring staff members. On top of that, my teeth have NEVER looked better or been healthier. Shout-out and a BIG thanks to Dr. Dougherty and his entire staff for all you do! Scott Tietjen San Diego More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2019

My appt with Heidi and Dr. Dougherty on May 2 was very comfortable and complete. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2019

Great team and experience. Their focus is clearly on preventative maintenance and overall patient health. Really recommend to anyone looking for great, reasonably priced dental care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2019

I have been very happy with Dougherty Dental. The office is great, with easy parking, and all of the staff are attentive. The reconstructive work I am having done is being done with the utmost expertise and attention to detail. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2019

I look forward to my check-ups at Dougherty Dental. Need I say more?! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2019

Being 57 years old and living in many different states and various parts of California throughout my lifetime, I’ve had many dentists. I’ve been lucky and have always managed to pick very good dentists, usually by referrals from friends, family or co-workers. However, with that said, Dr. Doughety and his incredible staff are hands down, BY FAR, the best Dentist I’ve ever had!He and his staff are professional, organized and TRULY care about each and every patient like you were one of their family members. I’ve now been going to him for over 10 years and would never even consider going anywhere else. I honestly think if I moved to New York, I would fly back to San Diego every 6 months for my dental appointment. That probably sounds crazy, but the fact is, he’s just THAT GOOD and it would be worth the expense and trip! Fortunately, I have no plans to ever move again, so I won’t have to worry about it. Dr. Dougherty should write a book for other Dentists on how a top-notch Dental office should be run and how to hire (and keep) high-quality, competent and caring staff members.On top of that, my teeth have NEVER looked better or been healthier. Shout-out and a BIG thanks to Dr. Dougherty and his entire staff for all you do!Scott Tietjen San Diego More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.I.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2019

My husband, David Ingalls and I, have been patients of Dougherty Dental for over 20 years and have been very pleased with our service, including cavities, crowns, teeth pulled for implants and follow up with treatment. His office is always prompt, attentive and professional. Many of our friends are patients. Marsha Ingalls More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2019

I have gone to this office for several years. I have never had any complaints about anybody there. A good dental office More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2019

My experience with Dougherty Dental was excellent as always. I have been with Dr Dougherty and his team for about 15 years and could not be happier with the treatment I have received. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2019

Heidi did her usual stellar job as she made my annual cleaning a breeze. Oh yeah, Paul did good as well. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2019

The office staff is wonderful and Dr.Paul Dougherty is wonderfully through and considerate..He is a marvelous dentist with great attention to detail and long term results...Arde Harris More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2019

Going on 20 years I drive from Encinitas.... have to More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2019

Met Berry for the first time and she was delightful and gave me alot of great info to keep my teeth in better condition. I drive up from Coronado because I love Dr. Dougherty. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2019

A very pleasant experience overall. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2019

Dr. Dougherty, his staff and hygienists provide far and away the best experience one could possibly hope for at a dental practice. The location is clean, modern and convenient, and most importantly, the care is excellent. I would recommend Dougherty Dental to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2018

I always have a wonderful experience at Dougherty Dental. Ashley Adum is just an excellent dental hygienist, a very nice person, and a caring health care provider. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2018

Paul Dougherty and his staff are excellent. My wife and I have been patients in their practice since the early 1980s. We would recommend them to anyone looking for comprehensive and ethical dental care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2018

Dr. Dougherty and his team are awesome! The office is very comfortable and provides many amenities to make visits enjoyable. Dr. Dougherty is very conservative with his approach to care and does not "push" treatment which is something I experienced at my previous dental office. They remain current with all the latest technology and provide top notch care. Highly recommend! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2018

Dougherty dental goes above and beyond to make every visit perfection. Heidi, my dental hygienist was thorough, funny and answered any questions I had. Andrea, the office manager checked on me during my appjntment. She is so upbeat and kind. Dr. Dougherty took time to answer all of my questions and explain my options and go over my x rays and the front office staff were incredibly helpful as I checked out. I’m so grateful I found Dougherty Dental!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2018

I always have a wonderful experience at Dougherty Dental and I LOVE my teeth now ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2018

A very dear friend connected me with Dr Dougherty after my crown fell off (during a whale watching cruise in San Diego) and I needed emergency treatment. Since I was travelling from the UK en route to Mexico I was very grateful that he could see me at such short notice. Dr Dougherty was brilliant: skilled, kind and professional and he did a superb job of re-fixing my crown and reassuring me all would be well. Such a relief! I highly recommend the expert dental services of Dr Dougherty and his friendly and professional team. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2015

Dr. Dougherty was my dentist in the early 90's to 1995 before I moved away from California. He did three gold onlays or inlays (I'm not sure of the difference) in back molars that have given me 20 years (so far!) of trouble free service. I have had problems with other traditional large fillings that were done by other dentists. These other amalgam fillings have discolored surrounding tooth and some have broken. Dr. Dougherty also extracted my four wisdom teeth. Dr. Dougherty is a dental artist and a caring and gentle practitioner. If I lived anywhere near San Diego, I'd still go to him. He is the BEST dentist I ever had and his dental skills stand the test of time. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2015

Dr. Dougherty is the best More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2014

Dr. Dougherty and his staff are absolutely the best. I have been a patient of this office for many years and everyone has been great. I have had a lot of dental work done over the years and haven't always had a great experience. Dr. Dougherty's office takes the time to go over the procedures and really fixes issues right the first time. You know you are in good hands and feel well taken care of. I highly recommend them! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2014

I have been a patient of Dr. Dougherty since the 80's, except for a short time I had dental insurance and went to another dentist who did not do a good job. I returned to Dr. Dougherty and he was able to completely redo the other dentists work. That was 18 years ago, and I haven't had any problem since. I find his staff to be the best I have encountered in my lifetime, especially my hygenist Heidi. I would recommend his practice to everyone, but be prepared for La Jolla prices! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.